It’s “Merry Christmas” Around Here, and Don’t You Forget It

What is it, exactly, that certain parties fear about Christmas? Why is it that notions regarding Christmas, from images of trees and mangers to the very salutation “Merry Christmas!,” is systematically attacked by the media as somehow improper?

If  the United States is to emrace the ideaology that diveristy is our strength, why is it that certain flavors are more palatable than others? What is so acceptable about the term “Happy Holidays” as opposed to the dreaded afforementioned Christian comment? I am no longer a practicing Christian. In fact, I’m not sure where I stand on any religious issues, save for the fact that I support an individual right to practice any religion one chooses. What I cannot and do not tolerate is the EXCLUSION of European ideals and traditions in order to promote a “Holiday Season.”

What, exactly, does that mean? A mash of cultures and notions that dilute the true nature of this wonderful time of year; one of peace on earth and good will toward men. Is there any more important message than that?

The decorating of trees is a pre-Christian tradition that has it’s roots in a celebration of the solstice, or changing of the seasons. There are theories that it also has links to St. Boniface and the German town of Geismar. Google the terms if you want more information concerning the relativity of Christmas trees and Christianity. My intent here is not to prove or disprove pagan or Christian relativity to the decorating of pine trees. My intent is to help preserve the traditions that were a source of great joy in my youth. The scent of my Mother’s gingerbread cookies, the time spent with family and friends, the sense of goodwill.

To me, these things will always be represented by the traditional symbols of Christmas. I will not bow to the notion that the term “Merry Christmas” is somehow offensive. The very idea of that is so ridiculous to me that it defies comment.

See here for more interesting comments regarding this writing.

Thanks for coming by, and let me say to you, loud and clear, MERRY CHRISTMAS!

Leave a Reply

